JEE (Main)
Verified: 1 October 2026
- Photo size
- 10–200 KB
- Signature size
- 10–100 KB
- Document limit
- 300 KB
- Formats
- Photograph, signature and ID proof: JPG/JPEG. Class 10 certificate/marksheet and disability/UDID certificate: PDF (50–300 KB).
JEE Main upload requirements at a glance
| Upload | Format | Size |
|---|---|---|
| Scanned photograph | JPG/JPEG, colour | 10 KB – 200 KB |
| Signature | JPG/JPEG | 10 KB – 100 KB |
| Class 10 (or equivalent) certificate / marksheet | 50 KB – 300 KB | |
| Identity proof (only if not verified via Aadhaar or DigiLocker) | JPG/JPEG | 10 KB – 200 KB |
| Disability / UDID certificate (if applicable) | 50 KB – 300 KB |
Every upload has a minimum as well as a maximum. A file that is too small is rejected just like one that is too large, which catches many applicants who compress too aggressively.
In addition to the scanned photograph, the form captures a live photograph through your webcam, or through a phone by scanning the QR code shown on screen. Use a light-coloured background and good lighting, with your face clearly visible.
Photograph: 10–200 KB, JPG
The bulletin asks for a recent passport-size photograph in colour, with about 80% of the face visible including the ears, no mask, against a white background.
- Take or scan the photo against a plain white wall or sheet, with even light and no shadow behind you.
- Crop it to head and shoulders with Crop Image so your face fills most of the frame.
- Choose the photo in the tool above. It is preset to 10–200 KB and saves a JPG inside that range.
- Open the result and check it is sharp and not stretched before uploading.
The bulletin does not specify photo dimensions in centimetres or pixels. Follow the application form’s on-screen instructions if it shows any; otherwise the KB range and the face and background rules are what matter.
Signature: 10–100 KB, JPG
- Sign on plain white paper so the signature is clearly legible.
- Photograph or scan it, then crop away the empty paper with Crop Image.
- Open Fit Image to KB preset to 10–100 KB and choose the cropped signature.
A tightly cropped signature is often only a few kilobytes. If it comes out under 10 KB, the tool raises the quality to meet the minimum.
Class 10 certificate: PDF, 50–300 KB
- From photos or scans: combine the pages into one PDF with JPG to PDF.
- Over 300 KB: compress it with Compress PDF to 300 KB, keeping the text and stamps readable.
- Under 50 KB: very clean single-page PDFs can fall below the minimum. Meet Minimum Size raises the file into 50–300 KB without changing what is on the page.
The same 50–300 KB PDF rule applies to a disability or UDID certificate.
Why uploads get rejected
- Below the minimum size — for example a 7 KB signature or a 30 KB certificate PDF.
- Wrong format — PNG or HEIC instead of JPG for the photo and signature, or JPG instead of PDF for the certificate. Convert with Convert Image Format.
- Background or framing — a coloured or patterned background, ears hidden, or a mask.
- Illegible scans — over-compressed text or a blurred signature. Always open the final file and check it at 100% zoom.
Our upload rejection checklist covers more cases.
JEE Main 2027
For JEE Main 2026, registration ran from 31 October to 27 November 2025. NTA publishes a new information bulletin for each year. When the 2027 bulletin is released, compare its upload section with the table above before you apply; this page is updated when it changes.
Photo or signature also needs resizing?
DocNimble owns the PDF/document part of the workflow. For photo and signature dimensions, cropping or exact image-size preparation, use ImgNimble and return here for the final PDF or document step.
Questions about this workflow
What is the photo size for JEE Main?
A JPG/JPEG photograph between 10 KB and 200 KB, in colour, with about 80% of the face visible including the ears, no mask, against a white background (JEE Main 2026 information bulletin).
What is the signature size for JEE Main?
A clearly legible JPG/JPEG signature between 10 KB and 100 KB.
Is the photo required to be 3.5 cm × 4.5 cm?
The 2026 information bulletin does not state photo dimensions. It specifies the format, the 10–200 KB size range, and the face and background rules. Follow any dimensions shown on the application form itself.
What size should the Class 10 certificate PDF be?
Between 50 KB and 300 KB. Compress it if it is larger, or use Meet Minimum Size if a clean PDF falls below 50 KB.
Are my photos uploaded to DocNimble?
No. Resizing and compression run in your browser; your files are not sent to DocNimble.